Latest Photos

Homecoming Musical 2015 Volleyball Trio Entra la Plaza DRI Pumpkin Patch Things to Eat in Abilene ACU FB vs. HBU ACU FB vs. HBU ACU FB vs. HBU
View more photos >

Fan poll to determine LSC Era Starting 5

By Edward Isaacs
Posted on December 4, 2012 | Sports | Comments Off on Fan poll to determine LSC Era Starting 5

The ACU Athletic department is currently conducting a fan poll to determine which Wildcats will be voted to the Lone Star Conference Era Starting 5 men’s and women’s basketball teams.

The poll is in honor of the ‘Cats 39th and final year as a member of the Lone Star Conference. Fans will be able to vote from Thursday, Nov. 29 through Tuesday, Jan. 29 when ACU plays West Texas A&M University at home.

Results will be announced at the beginning of the Wildcats’ home doubleheader against Tarleton State University Saturday, Feb. 9.

Those who wish to participate can either vote online at or with a paper ballot, available at every home game.

The ballots are divided into six categories: men and women guards, forwards and centers. Ballots only include the student-athletes who played for the ‘Cats while they were in the LSC.

The men’s basketball team began competing in the Lone Star Conference under head coach Willard Tate in 1973-74. The women joined the league in 1982-83 with Burl McCoy as the coach.

While voting, fans are told to select just one center, two guards and two forwards, which will create both a men’s and women’s starting lineup. The older fans who have been watching ACU basketball for decades will have some difficult choices to make.

For the men’s guard spots fans will have to choose between two-time first team all-conference selection Randall Moore, 1980’s star Floyd Logan, Rodney Lee and David Baxter among others.

Lee led the Wildcats in scoring twice in the early 2000’s, while Baxter holds the record for most points scored in a single game in Moody Coliseum with 44.

Forwards in the men’s category include: Corey Stone, the top career scorer at ACU with 1,848 points, Rodney Fedell, the third-best rebounder in ACU men’s history and current Director of Athletics, Jared Mosley. Mosley scored over 1,457 points from 1995-99.

The women’s forwards will not be an easy decision either. They include: all-Americans Jackie Bucher, Claudia Schleyer and Jennifer Clarkson.

Another top contender is Pat Bidwell, considered one of the program’s best 3-point shooters, Jamie Meyer who scored over 500 points in her career and Caroline Omamo. Omamo led the team in rebounding for three straight years during the late 1990’s.

Fans are encouraged to look through the men’s and women’s basketball record books to help them with their vote. The record books are attached and available with the online ballot. A ballot received that contains more than one center, two guards and two forwards will be marked void.

avatar Posted by Edward Isaacs on Dec 4th, 2012 and filed under Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.  - This post has been viewed 21248 times.

Comments are closed